How to save bookmarks in Google Chrome

How to save Google Chrome browser bookmarks, how to transfer bookmarks to another computer, how to restore Google Chrome bookmarks on your computer after reinstalling the Windows operating system, you will learn about all this from this article.

Many users often face such a problem – how to save browser bookmarks when reinstalling the operating system.

Why do bookmarks need to be saved in a safe place from time to time? This must be done in order not to suddenly lose your data under force majeure circumstances. In this case, you may lose all your selected links to sites of interest to you.

It is not always possible to restore all your bookmarks again, especially if there were a large number of bookmarks and the addresses of the sites that you had in your bookmarks were not memorized or written down somewhere in advance. Therefore, you should always take care of saving your browser bookmarks in advance.

You need to save archived copies of bookmarks not on the drive on which you have the Windows operating system installed, but on another drive if your computer’s hard drive is divided into several drives.

It would be even better to do this – save copies of bookmarks on an external drive, on a flash drive, in a word, in several places at the same time. In this case, saved copies of bookmarks will be securely stored.

You can use saved browser bookmarks not only when you reinstall the operating system on your computer. For example, you use two computers: a desktop and a laptop.

You can transfer Google Chrome bookmarks from one computer to another computer in order to have the same bookmarks of your browser on both computers.

A copy of the bookmarks can also be transferred to the portable (portable) version of the Google Chrome browser. In this case, you can use your browser, launching it from a USB flash drive, on another computer, for example, at work, if of course you have such an opportunity. On another computer, the browser will work with all your bookmarks.

Now let’s look at two ways to save bookmarks in the Google Chrome browser. First, the question of saving and transferring Google Chrome browser bookmarks will be considered, and in the final part of the article we will talk about how to save all Google Chrome browser settings using synchronization on the Google server. In this case, you will be able to launch the Google Chrome browser with your settings from any computer after it has been synchronized.

How to save bookmarks in Chrome

In order to save the Google Chrome browser bookmarks, you will need to click on the “Customize and manage Google Chrome” button in the upper right corner on the toolbar. In the context menu, you will need to click sequentially on the items “Bookmarks” and “Bookmark Manager”.

In the new browser window “Bookmark Manager” you need to select a folder with bookmarks. In my example, this is the “Other bookmarks” folder.

Next, you need to click on the arrow next to the Arrange item, and then select the Export bookmarks to HTML file option from the context menu.

In the Explorer window that opens, you need to select a place to save bookmarks, in this example, cloud file storage Microsoft OneDrive , and then give a name to the file with copies of the saved bookmarks. Next, you need to click on the “Save” button.

After that, the bookmarks will be saved in the selected location in the “HTML” file format. This file can be copied to another location for more secure storage.

How to Transfer Google Chrome Bookmarks

In order to transfer Google Chrome browser bookmarks, you will need to install or run the browser on another computer or on this computer after reinstalling the operating system.

On the “toolbar” you need to click on the “Customize and control Google Chrome” button. In the pop-up context menu, you need to click on the items “Bookmarks” => “Bookmark Manager”.

In the Bookmark Manager window, you must click on the arrow next to the “Organize” item and click on the “Import bookmarks from HTML file …” item.

In the Explorer window, select a file with copies of saved bookmarks and click on the “Open” button.

After these steps, in the “Bookmark Manager” window, the “Imported” folder will appear, with the previously saved bookmarks. In the future, the restored bookmarks can be moved by dragging them to other folders, and the Imported folder can then be deleted.

Now you know how to save bookmarks in Chrome, and in case of emergency, you can restore Google Chrome bookmarks.

Bookmarks that have been added to the bookmarks bar under the browser’s address bar or added to a folder located on the bookmarks bar are saved in this way. Bookmarks that have been added directly to various browser extensions for visual bookmarks will not be saved.

Google Chrome Synchronization

After the update, in new versions, the Google Chrome browser allows you to save bookmarks using synchronization.

Your bookmarks will be synced with the Google server. When accessing the Internet from another Google Chrome browser, you will need to enter your account information. The browser settings will be synchronized, and the other Google Chrome browser will have exactly the same settings as your main browser.

To do this, you need to log into Chrome on the page that will open immediately after installing the browser. If you skipped this step, then you can then sign in to Chrome in the browser window, in the “Chrome not signed in (Don’t miss the opportunity – sign in)” field.

If you don’t have an account, then create a mailbox with Google.

This image shows that in the browser bookmarks bar there are bookmarks for Yandex services and a bookmark for Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Wikipedia, and there are three bookmarks in the Other bookmarks folder.

For clarity, I will now open the Google Chrome browser in a virtual machine on the Windows XP operating system. This is already a different operating system and is considered to be a different computer.

The image shows that the bookmarks bar in the Google Chrome browser installed on the Windows XP operating system is empty and there are no bookmarks on it.

In the upper right corner, the browser offers to sign in to Chrome with a Google account. To do this, you will need a Gmail email address and password.

After clicking on the link to enter, in the “Login” window you will need to enter your email address and its password, and then click on the “Login” button.

After signing in, your data will be synchronized with the Google server. Now, after logging into the Internet in the Google Chrome browser from any computer, you will only need to enter your email details and its password to synchronize with your Google account.

If necessary, you can configure additional synchronization settings. To do this, you need to follow this path – “Setting up and managing Google Chrome” => “Settings” => “Advanced sync settings”.

After entering the data, synchronization begins to occur. Your bookmarks, history and other settings are synced with your Google account. In the upper right corner, click on the “OK” button.

After synchronization, your bookmarks appeared in the browser in the Windows XP operating system. The image shows that the bookmarks bar and the Other Bookmarks folder have the bookmarks that were in the browser in the Windows 7 operating system.

In this way, you can save browser bookmarks, and after logging in from any computer, access your bookmarks and other settings of your Google Chrome browser.

If you are accessing the Internet from someone else’s computer, then you will need to add another user in the Google Chrome browser. To do this, click on the button “Customize and manage Google Chrome” => “Settings” => “Users” => “Add user”. After entering your data, you can use the browser with your settings.

Attention! After you finish working with the browser, do not forget to then delete the user you added with your Google account so that your account data does not fall into the wrong hands.

Article Conclusions

Bookmarks in the Google Chrome browser can be saved to a file, or you can restore all browser settings using synchronization. After synchronization is completed, all data will become available to the user: passwords, installed extensions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.